AFL fans get second grand final rematch

With the competition’s top eight beginning to shape, the AFL has revealed the match dates and times for this season’s next fixture block.

The news comes after the AFL Commission confirmed this year’s grand final will revert to its traditional start time of 2.30pm.

Rounds 16 to 19 will see all current top nine teams feature across Thursday and Friday nights, with a weeknight game penciled in for rounds 16 and 17.

The AFL will take another trip up North – its fourth this season – in round 18 when Melbourne hosts Port Adelaide at Traeger Park.

READ MORE: Aussie swimming sensation Zac Stubblety-Cook shatters world record

READ MORE: Dejected Knights confused by Bunker’s bizarre explanation

READ MORE: Star Essendon forward announces shock retirement

Round 19 will also see a stellar lineup of highly-anticipated matches including a bumper Saturday on July 23 where the grand final rematch returns between the Western Bulldogs and Melbourne at Marvel Stadium, while the Brisbane Lions and the Gold Coast Suns battle it out in the Q-Clash at The Gabba.

Tickets are not yet available to purchase.

The AFL’s Sir Doug Nicholls Round – the league’s annual round which recognizes and celebrates indigenous players and culture – kicks off on Friday night.

AFL FIXTURE 2022 (All times AEST)


Thursday June 30

Brisbane Lions vs Western Bulldogs at The Gabba, 7:20pm

Friday July 1

Carlton vs St Kilda at Marvel Stadium, 7:50pm

Saturday July 2

Essendon vs Sydney Swans at MCG, 1:45pm

Adelaide Crows vs Melbourne at Adelaide Oval, 4:35pm

Geelong Cats vs North Melbourne at GMHBA Stadium, 7:25pm

Gold Coast Suns vs Collingwood at Metricon Stadium, 7:25pm

Sunday July 3

Richmond vs West Coast Eagles at MCG, 2:10pm

GWS Giants vs Hawthorn at Giants Stadium, 3:20pm

Fremantle vs Port Adelaide at Optus Stadium, 5:20pm


Thursday July 7

Geelong Cats vs Melbourne at GMHBA Stadium, 7:20pm

Friday July 8

Sydney Swans vs Western Bulldogs at SCG, 7:50pm

Saturday July 9

Collingwood vs North Melbourne at MCG, 1:45pm

Gold Coast Suns vs Richmond at Metricon Stadium, 4:35pm

St Kilda vs Fremantle at Marvel Stadium, 7:25pm

Port Adelaide vs GWS Giants at Adelaide Oval, 7:30pm

Sunday July 10

Brisbane Lions vs Essendon at The Gabba, 1:10pm

Hawthorn vs Adelaide Crows at Marvel Stadium, 3:20pm

West Coast Eagles vs Carlton at Optus Stadium, 4:40pm


Friday July 15

Western Bulldogs vs St Kilda at Marvel Stadium, 7:50pm

Saturday July 16

Adelaide vs Collingwood at Adelaide Oval, 1:15pm

GWS Giants vs Brisbane Lions at Manuka Oval, 1:45pm

North Melbourne vs Richmond at Marvel Stadium, 4:35pm

Carlton vs Geelong at the MCG, 1:45pm

Fremantle vs Sydney Swans at Optus Stadium, 5:30pm

Sunday July 17

Hawthorn vs. West Coast at the MCG, 1:10 p.m.

Melbourne vs Port Adelaide at TIO Traeger Park, 2:50pm

Essendon vs Gold Coast Suns at Marvel Stadium, 4:40pm


Friday July 22

Richmond vs. Fremantle at Marvel Stadium, 7:50 p.m.

Saturday July 23

North Melbourne vs Hawthorn at Blundstone Arena, 1:45pm

Sydney Swans vs Adelaide at the SCG, 1:45pm

Port Adelaide vs Geelong at Adelaide Oval, 4:05pm

Brisbane Lions vs Gold Coast Suns at the Gabba, 7:10pm

Western Bulldogs vs Melbourne at Marvel Stadium, 7:25pm

Sunday July 24

Carlton vs GWS Giants at Marvel Stadium, 1:10pm

Collingwood vs Essendon at the MCG, 3:20pm

West Coast Eagles vs St Kilda at Optus Stadium, 2:40pm

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

#AFL #fans #grand #final #rematch

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.